What DOES It Mean to Trust God?

Monsignor Charles Pope has released another gem for consideration. It is I who have sought permission to reprint his articles and he allows this without supporting the prophetic elements at this site. Msgr. Pope’s blog is here should you wish to read his many articles, packed with instruction and wisdom. In this piece, he draws our focus to the very purpose of praying the Prayer for Miraculous Trust

 

What Does It Mean to Trust God? Maybe Not What You Think

We are often told to trust in God, and many of us have counseled others who are anxious or downcast to do so. But what does that mean?

In some cases, when people give this counsel they mean this: Don’t worry, God will eventually give you what want. God will come around to your way of thinking at some point. Hang in there and wait for God to answer (yourway). He’ll take care of things (in a way that pleases you).

This is not trust.

To trust is to move to the stable conviction that whatever God decides to do is the right thing. It means being at peace with what He does, what He decides. It is to accept that God often acts in paradoxical ways, in ways that are different from, or even contrary to, our notions of what is best. God often permits evils for some greater good, even if this greater good is hidden from us.

At the foot of the cross, we realize that even a total disaster can produce immense good. We call that terrible day “Good Friday” for a reason. The apparent “total loss” of that day ushered in the New Covenant and made more than enough grace and mercy available to save the entire human race—if we but ask.

Many of us have experienced difficulties that were quite devastating to us at the time. In some cases, we have subsequently come to understand why God permitted them. We can see how we grew from the experience or how new opportunities were opened to us that, while not our preference at the time, were in fact best. In other cases, however, what went through still make little sense to us. But if we have learned to trust God, we can be at peace with His apparent “No” to our desired outcome. Trust says, “It is well with my soul.”

An old hymn with that title says,

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
when sorrows like sea billows roll;
whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well with my soul
.

That is trust: the ability to say, “Whatever my lot, it is well with my soul.” It is not wrong to present our wants and wishes to God, but trusting Him means being at peace with His answer, not resenting it.

We are forever asking God to bless what we are doing, but when do we ever seek what God is blessing and then do that?

Trusting God doesn’t mean thinking that He’ll eventually give me what I want. Trusting God means being at peace with whatever He wants; knowing that He wants it is enough for me; there is peace and it is well with my soul.

About Beckita

Beckita, widow, mother and grandmother, lives in Missoula, Montana. After more than thirty years of service, she retired from two careers: elementary school educator and director of liturgical music ministry in a local parish. Serving the Catholic Church in many capacities since early childhood, she now provides care for a nearly 90 year old priest of Chinese origin and collaborates with him in evangelizing the Chinese people. For more than twenty-five years, she has welcomed words from heaven concerning these sobering times in which we live and, like so many, takes seriously Our Lord and Our Lady’s call to intercede for the return of souls to God. Responding to heaven’s call for prayer, for her, included making pilgrimages to shrines in Europe, Asia and South America. She says these travels, added to her years as a Peace Corps volunteer in West Africa in the mid-seventies, have expanded her heart to hold dear all peoples of the world. She is a longtime member of TNRS community and when she began reading Charlie’s posts, immediately, she found that his mission and message harmonize well with Church approved private revelation of our times. In September 2015, she accepted an invitation to become part of TNRS Answers Team. As events of the Storm evolved, last fall (2016), she accepted Charlie’s invitation to become managing editor of TNRS should he need to leave the site. With great gratitude to and for Charlie, founder of TNRS, and with great respect and admiration for the lifelong experiences and God-given gifts he brought to bear on his work at this site - she knows we all know he’s irreplaceable – still, she considers it a great privilege to serve the TNRS community.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Prayer, Trust. Bookmark the permalink.

121 Responses to What DOES It Mean to Trust God?

  1. Beckita says:

    When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
    When sorrows like sea billows roll,
    Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.

    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.

    Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
    Let this blessed assurance control,
    That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
    And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.

    My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
    My sin, not in part but the whole,
    Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
    Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.

    And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
    The clouds be rolled back as a scroll,
    The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
    Even so, it is well with my soul.

    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.

    Liked by 11 people

    • Doug says:

      I’ve always liked thus sing Becks.

      Liked by 4 people

    • Dan Gendreau says:

      If one knows the history of this song, it has yet even more meaning and inspiration.

      Horatio G. Spafford was a successful lawyer and businessman in Chicago with a lovely family — a wife, Anna, and five children. However, they were not strangers to tears and tragedy. Their young son died with pneumonia in 1871, and in that same year, much of their business was lost in the great Chicago fire. Yet, God in His mercy and kindness allowed the business to flourish once more.

      On Nov. 21, 1873, the French ocean liner, Ville du Havre was crossing the Atlantic from the U.S. to Europe with 313 passengers on board. Among the passengers were Mrs. Spafford and their four daughters. Although Mr. Spafford had planned to go with his family, he found it necessary to stay in Chicago to help solve an unexpected business problem. He told his wife he would join her and their children in Europe a few days later. His plan was to take another ship.

      About four days into the crossing of the Atlantic, the Ville du Harve collided with a powerful, iron-hulled Scottish ship, the Loch Earn. Suddenly, all of those on board were in grave danger. Anna hurriedly brought her four children to the deck. She knelt there with Annie, Margaret Lee, Bessie and Tanetta and prayed that God would spare them if that could be His will, or to make them willing to endure whatever awaited them. Within approximately 12 minutes, the Ville du Harve slipped beneath the dark waters of the Atlantic, carrying with it 226 of the passengers including the four Spafford children.

      A sailor, rowing a small boat over the spot where the ship went down, spotted a woman floating on a piece of the wreckage. It was Anna, still alive. He pulled her into the boat and they were picked up by another large vessel which, nine days later, landed them in Cardiff, Wales. From there she wired her husband a message which began, “Saved alone, what shall I do?” Mr. Spafford later framed the telegram and placed it in his office.
      Another of the ship’s survivors, Pastor Weiss, later recalled Anna saying, “God gave me four daughters. Now they have been taken from me. Someday I will understand why.”

      Mr. Spafford booked passage on the next available ship and left to join his grieving wife. With the ship about four days out, the captain called Spafford to his cabin and told him they were over the place where his children went down.

      According to Bertha Spafford Vester, a daughter born after the tragedy, Spafford wrote “It Is Well With My Soul” while on this journey.

      When peace like a river attendeth my way,

      When sorrows like sea billows roll,

      Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,

      It is well, it is well with my soul.

      Chorus:

      It is well with my soul,

      It is well, it is well with my soul

      Anna gave birth to three more children, one of which died at age four with dreaded pneumonia. In August 1881, the Spaffords moved to Jerusalem. Mr. Spafford died and is buried in that city.

      And the peace of God which surpasses all understanding, shall keep your hearts, your minds through Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:7.

      * Copied from http://staugustine.com/living/religion/2014-10-16/story-behind-song-it-well-my-soul

      Liked by 4 people

  2. calamity jane says:

    So beautiful, so encouraging. Thank you doesn’t seem enough – but thank you.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. sheralyn80 says:

    Very good article…it seems I am two steps forward and one step back at times on this one.
    I ask you to say a prayer for my friend’s grandson, Carter. He is nine months old and has had multiple health problems. He has been hospitalized for over two months and suffered a stroke in the last few hours. He has been on life support for some time previous to this, but they will be removing that in the morning.They are struggling to trust…

    Liked by 10 people

  4. anaverena1 says:

    Beautiful, Beckita. Thank you for this wonderful piece.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Doug says:

    Uh oh! I feel a bing coming.

    I’ve always liked this song…….

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Mick says:

    Beckita, thanks for sharing this article by Msgr. Pope. It is excellent.

    Liked by 5 people

  7. Phillip Frank says:

    This trust in the Lord is not that hard.
    My youngest daughter summed up her life with great wisdom the other day in a conversation we were having. She told me that she had accepted God’s will and would “bloom where I’m planted”. She sought what God was willing for her- her life exactly how it is – but in resignation to HIS will and in its outcome, not hers. Again: WISDOM.
    Now for me, I’ve always thought on my life through the lense of “thy will be done”.
    I’ve got this scribbled on the windshield of my work truck as a daily reminder of my resignation to this reality. Of course, there is my will and God’s permissive will to be considered along with His perfect will. But in the end, God gets His way and in a good way for me, if I but resign myself that His will is being done and inline with a greater good if I but surrender my will to His perfectly.
    On another note, I have added in my rosary, the intentions of Our Lady to my intentions.
    I figured that along with my feeble hopes and desires that adding Our Lady’s intentions should cover most everything necessary in life for me and mine, the world and even heaven!

    Liked by 14 people

    • Doug says:

      I believe it says in the scriptures “trust in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart”. Easy when your desires are aligned with his desires. Nice Phillip.

      Liked by 7 people

  8. gerrymackrell says:

    Trusting relieves the burden.

    Liked by 7 people

  9. Carmel Mary says:

    Hi Beckita, This is a much needed article for me in particular right now. Thank you. So many things are hard to discern and making decisions is so difficult when it seems like the choices abound and all our anchors are shifting. The song was one I was totally ignorant of as a life long Catholic. But in the years of working with some lovely Christians, I was introduced to praise music that plays while we exercise in the fitness center with our students in the Special Ed room. Matt Redman has a version of this that started playing in my head as soon as I read your quote from Msgr Pope. (He is so inspiring to hear on Morning Glory!)
    I met you last year in september before Charlie’s talk in Billings. I’ve peeked in here occasionally since then, but haven’t commented til now. Its been a year of trust and healing since my husband’s death. I’m again visiting in YNP with my daughter, the ranger. I’ve driven up to Our Lady of the Rockies this week. WOW the graces there are abundant. My return to Michigan this year will take me through Colorado. I’ve been longing to see Mt Meeker and trod the trail Pope St JPII walked. Does anyone know if the public is allowed to do this?
    Thanks Beck for your service here. Even though Im usually quiet here, I think and pray for you, Charlie and all the group.
    Mary

    Liked by 10 people

    • Beckita says:

      Really great to hear from you, Mary, and thank you so much for the prayers. May you have travel mercies as you journey, with payers for your discerning. So glad you made it to Our Lady of the Rockies. She’s a beauty.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Carmel Mary says:

        Thank you, I need all the mercy I can get while traveling. My little HHR is starting to rebel in funny ways. Over 20 years ago at her shrine in Golden CO, the nuns taught us to pray “Mother Cabrini, Fix the machini”, and I’ve been wearing that prayer out!

        Maybe next year we can meet up somewhere.

        Liked by 5 people

        • Beckita says:

          Love it, Mary! It would be grand to meet up – although, I’m so ready for a reset that I pray we’re being thoroughly purified by then and massive numbers of people are dropping to their knees and making a return to the Lord. 😉

          Liked by 5 people

    • Bob says:

      I was at Mount Meeker last year and think I remember after talking to the caretaker of the property of what was once the retreat center that the trail isn’t opened to the public but the Chapel of St. Catherine still is. I would have wanted to check out the trail too but the place is still beautiful from the view of the Chapel.

      Liked by 5 people

      • Carmel Mary says:

        Oh Bob, I was hoping the trail would be open. Thank you for the info, I couldnt see that anywhere online.

        The St. Malo website says this about the chapel.

        “Please note: Due to major renovations at Camp St. Malo, St. Catherine of Siena Chapel (the Chapel on the Rock) is currently closed.”

        So, now I have to decide if I skip Colorado. 😔The last leg of my grand tour includes a dear friends home in Denison, TX and my newly married son’s place in Charlotte NC.

        Can you see the chapel and trailhead from the road? Well, I can always view the Lady of the Rescue shrine with my heart and soul sight! Just seeing the spot would give me something to build on.😉

        Liked by 4 people

    • Mick says:

      Hi, Mary! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Carmel Mary says:

        Hi Mick! How are things at home? Keeping your family and all the Jackson group in my intentions at all the shrines and masses. Give my love to all those great people of faith!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Mick says:

          Things are good here. Thanks for the prayers, and see you sometime after you get back. Oh, and how are the twins? And how’s the grandson out where you are (it IS a grandson out there, right?)?

          Liked by 1 person

          • Doug says:

            Mick, my daughter is dating a guy from Michigan. Not far from Detroit. He is in Navy and out near where we live here now. They are getting pretty serious.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Mick says:

            Doug, do you guys like him? Is he from one of the Detroit suburbs or from a small town in the country? Or, better yet, is he a farm boy? 🙂

            Liked by 3 people

          • Doug says:

            Hey Mick, he is from the suburbs. We like him. Our Jess has walked away from her faith, but she recently is seeing the value of family. One of his navy buddies blew his brains out last month on the sub on deck. Two weeks ago, a car on the highway, literally next to Jess, flipped and caught fire. The person did not make it. She is doing a lot of thinking about life. God is quietly and slowly using tragedies to get her attention. I am faithfully praying the 12 year St. Bridgette prayer every day for all my kids. I am trusting and letting God do the heavy liftimg.

            Liked by 3 people

          • Mick says:

            Doug, I will continue praying for your kids; and I will add prayers for Jess’ beau.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Doug says:

            Way cool! Thanks Mick!

            Liked by 1 person

  10. Luke Michael says:

    Wisdom! Great hymn!

    Liked by 3 people

  11. madkatmomma says:

    And so we walk by faith and not by sight, that is trust to me. It’s not easy, I find that walking without sight lands me face first into a lot of big walls. I try to picture Jesus and our mother Mary, arms around me guiding the way. It is still a struggle.

    Liked by 7 people

  12. Julia says:

    Msgr Pope, never fails to deliver the bottom line real deal in Catholic teaching, Christian perspective. God bless him, and all those wonderful Shepherds who keep to the path mapped out by Jesus Christ. Praised be Jesus and Mary.

    And God bless you Beckita for your faithful commitment to keeping the Trust, Do, Love option alive and well.

    Liked by 5 people

  13. Joe Crozier says:

    I had just read this latest post by Becks and turned on EWTN where Mother Angelica was talking about – you guessed it – TRUST. One of the prayers Mother said was “God give me the grace to be silent.” Apart from now finding that funny coming from Mother Angelica (who I believe is a saint) I wonder why that short prayer registered with me more than anything else she said —- mmmmmm!

    Liked by 9 people

  14. Beckita says:

    WOW! Today’s first reading recounted the giving of the Ten Commandments. Here’s a recording made in Msgr. Pope’s church by the Choir of the Ordinariate Parish in DC. Ethereal.

    Thomas Talllis: “If ye love me”

    John 14:15–17

    If ye love me,
    keep my commandments,
    and I will pray the Father,
    and he shall give you another comforter,
    that he may ‘bide with you forever,
    e’en the spirit of truth.

    Liked by 8 people

    • Annie W. says:

      Oh my!! That is music fit for the Lord Almighty! Thank you, Beckita. My soul longs for beautiful architecture and music, both of which give glory to God.

      Liked by 4 people

    • Snowy Owl says:

      Wow! Just beautiful! I have a CD here with Peter Phillips and Tallis Scholars who perform Thomas Tallis’ Miserere and Pallestrina, so very beautiful! This sounds just like it, it’s the kind of music that transports your soul into heavenly places! He was so truly gifted!

      Liked by 8 people

    • Exodus 34 is an incredible section of scripture, isn’t it, Beckita?. God meets and stands with Moses for 40 days and nights! It’s just like an NDE, only Moses doesn’t have to die. One of the parts of this scripture that I love is how Moses face continues to shine with the reflection of God’s presence, even after he has come down from the Mount Sinai. The reflection of God was so holy, so pure, that Moses brother, Aaron, had to ask him to cover his face with a veil, so that they could stand to look at his face! Here’s how it reads – brackets hold my comments;

      “When Moses came down from Mount Sinai, with the two tablets of the testimony (the 10 Commandments) in his hand as he came down from the mountain, Moses did not know that the skin of his face shone because he had been talking with God. Aaron and all the people of Israel saw Moses, and behold, the skin of his face shone, and they were afraid to come near him. But Moses called to them, and Aaron and all the leaders of the congregation returned to him, and Moses talked with them. Afterward all the people of Israel came near, and he commanded them all that the LORD had spoken with him in Mount Sinai. And when Moses had finished speaking with them, he put a veil over his face.

      Whenever Moses went in before the LORD to speak with Him, he would remove the veil, until he came out. And when he came out and told the people of Israel what he was commanded, the people of Israel would see the face of Moses, that the skin of Moses’ face was shining. And Moses would put the veil over his face again, until he went in to speak with him.”

      It reminds me of the Mount of Transfiguration when Moses and Elijah descend from heaven to Earth and meet with Jesus. Here is how it’s described in Matthew 17;

      “And after six days Jesus took with him Peter and James, and John his brother, and led them up a high mountain by themselves. And he was transfigured before them, and his face shone like the sun, and his clothes became white as light.”

      Won’t it be wonderful to stand in God’s presence, just as Moses did?

      Dave

      Liked by 4 people

      • Beckita says:

        Love all you’ve written here, Dave. Your deep faith is both a blessing and a sign of hope. Thank you so much. Yes, Ithe connection between Moses’ encounter with Yahweh and the Transfiguration is splendid. I’ve often meditated on the shining face of Moses and I share your anticipation of seeing God face to Face. How wonderful, indeed, will be Eternity!

        With the Catholic belief in the Real Presence of Jesus in the Eucharist, I often wonder what the faces of those who adore the Lord must look like. If only we had the eyes to see the shining imprint which must surely be left on those who adore. But we live on this side of the veil and would most likely die of joy should we be able to see so many glorious encounters we have with God which look simple and ordinary from this earthly vantage.

        Still praying for you, Dave. Praying that you and your family are weathering the trials with strength, grace and God’s Consolation.

        Liked by 5 people

  15. CrewDog says:

    Just to prove that I’m not a total Ol’ Curmudgeon and do have a semblance of humor … I’ll pass this along from my e-mail today 😉

    Squirrels and the Churches

    The Presbyterian church called a meeting to decide what to do about
    their squirrels. After prayer and consideration, they concluded the
    squirrels were predestined to be there and they shouldn’t interfere with
    God’s divine will.

    At the Baptist church the squirrels had taken an interest in the
    baptistery. The deacons met and decided to put a water slide on the
    baptistery and let the squirrels drown themselves. The squirrels liked
    the slide and, unfortunately, knew instinctively how to swim so twice as
    many squirrels showed up the following week.

    The Methodist church decided that they were not in a position to harm
    any of God’s creatures. So, they humanely trapped their squirrels and
    set them free near the Baptist Church. Two weeks later the squirrels
    were back when the Baptists took down the water slide.

    But the Catholic Church came up with a very creative strategy. They
    baptized all the squirrels and consecrated them as members of the
    church. Now they only see them at Christmas and Easter.

    Not much was heard from the Jewish synagogue; they took the first
    squirrel and circumcised him. They haven’t seen a squirrel since.

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 14 people

  16. Judith says:

    Right on Time, Beckita. I am always amazed how God’s message comes thru TNRS blog.

    Just received word that I probably have renal cancer. Adding on to my way of the cross, I think. Thank God for the Prayer of Miraculous Trust, the Surrender Prayer, and so much more. I watched the story of St Bridget of Sweden on EWTN last week and felt moved to start praying the Fifteen St.Bridget Prayers daily ( the Passion and Death of Christ), and over the past several weeks I have often prayed to be filled with the Flame of Love, to live in the Divine Will for God’s Glory and the salvation of souls. I’m thinking God just answered “YES”.
    Pray for me that I live in His ‘strength and courage’ ’cause I am a weak, prideful sinner.
    Now I must help my loved ones to understand. (that will probably be the toughest cross 🙂

    Liked by 8 people

    • SteveBC says:

      Ah, Judith, you are a brave and thoughtful woman. I’ve prayed a PMT that you can benefit from God’s Will in this and that He will allow a full healing.

      Liked by 8 people

    • Beckita says:

      Absolutely praying for you, Judith… for strength and courage as well as for consolation and healing. Praying, too, for your loved ones. Please keep us updated.

      Liked by 8 people

    • audiemarie2014 says:

      Praying for you, too, Judith. God bless you. As SteveBC said, you are a brave and thoughtful woman.

      Liked by 4 people

    • Mick says:

      Oh, Judith… you are and will be in my prayers, dear sister.

      Liked by 4 people

    • Doug says:

      Prayers for you Judith!

      Liked by 4 people

    • Joe Crozier says:

      Rosary for you today Judith. Bridget was my granny’s name and I had an Aunt Bridie who took me in when I first left home and several of the great grand children have Bridget in their names and St Bridget provides great meditations from her mystical visions for our Rosary of the Seven Sorrows that we say every Tuesday. Of course the Servites have a The Seven Sorrows at the centre of their devotion and their own St Peregrine is the patron saint of cancer sufferers. Fr Peter Mary Rookey, Servite, appeals to this great patron at the end of His Miracle prayer. I can’t post the link cause I have only my phone to post this. But you will be abke to google him saying it and will hear the singing in tongues at the end if its the same recording I know. God bless and preserve you. St Peregrine the cancer saint pray for us.

      Liked by 5 people

      • Judith says:

        Thank you, all of you for your thoughtful, encouraging words and prayers. What a wonderful family is TNRS family. I am greatly blessed. I know God will used my circumstance for His greater Good – if I just cooperate. I’m hoping for the salvation of countless souls.

        Joe Crozier, I had forgotten about ST Peregrine. Thanks for the reminder.

        God bless all here.
        Judith

        Liked by 9 people

        • Beckita says:

          Dear St. Peregrine, remain by Judith, interceding on her behalf. And may all who read this, please take a moment to pray this prayer, interceding in solidarity for our friend, Judith.

          Liked by 7 people

        • Joe Crozier says:

          Because you are a woman of faith and do not presume to know the mysterious ways of God I am happy to inform you that my dad was miraculously cured of renal cancer. I had phoned Fr Rookey and asked him for prayers. The tumour simply disappeared. The surgeons were dumfounded but conceded that a miracle was the only explanation. I believe Fr Rookey is now in heaven. Like Padre Pio he humbly submitted to the strictures on his apostolate that were imposed on him by the Church. But by his own admission he found these to be the heaviest of crosses. He was not allowed to conduct healing services in public but continued to answer the phone and pray for people over the phone until his death at the age of 97. The line is always free now – direct to heaven.

          Liked by 11 people

          • Joe Crozier says:

            Just by way of explanation – the tumour was plainly visible on the first scan. I phoned Fr Rookey. A second scan was taken shortly after and there was no tumour. No treatment had been given.

            Liked by 5 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Joe, this story about Father Rookey is so beautiful! His obedience, like Padre Pio’s is everything! Wow, wow. Thank you for sharing this! 💕Such a great lesson and reminder for us all! (And a hopefully a future Saint!) 🙂

            Liked by 4 people

    • Karen says:

      Yes Judith, sharing cancer news with your brothers and sisters here and sharing the same news with loved ones can be like speaking two different languages, i.e. suffering can be understood so differently. Maybe some of our loved ones might start praying for the first time in ages. And even though we sometimes would prefer to suffer quietly and without any fuss being made, by sharing the news we might have an opportunity to witness to the message in today’s Mass Readings – God can take evil and work it to do good to those who love Him. God bless you in your struggles Judith; placing you into my permanent and ever-growing Territory of Souls for prayer and offering.

      Liked by 8 people

      • Judith says:

        My thoughts exactly, Karen. And thank you. May Jesus And Mary bless you.
        Judith

        Liked by 3 people

        • Karen says:

          Judith, my Mum was recently diagnosed with stage 3B lung cancer – no surgery possible except to relieve certain circumstances. While not being given a timeline she had decided not to have any treatment. This past weekend the Australian Government has announced it has placed the lung/renal cancer wonder drug Opdivo on the subsidised list – it was approved last year but was $5000 a course – now, for Mum, an aged pensioner, it is less than $7. Our family, being new to the whole cancer scenario, was not aware of the drug and no one had ever mentioned it to us. We have an appointment to see if Mum is a suitable candidate and find out more about it. Wondering Judith if it could be an option for you – 60 countries have approved it. Gods will be done.

          Liked by 2 people

          • Beckita says:

            Praying for your dear mum, Karen, and you. Indeed, may God’s Will be done, and may He grant each of you in the family strength and consolation as you walk this journey together. (Such a time of corruption in the realm of health care in our times. One year a treatment costs the prohibitive to many 5K and the next year it’s less than 7 bucks. Lord have mercy and Maranatha!)

            Liked by 1 person

          • Mick says:

            Prayers for your mother, Karen.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Karen says:

            Thank you Beckita, Mick and Judith for prayers. There is the occasional backward step but usually there is the little step forward seen as a blessing – yesterday Mum had a cast removed from her leg (multiple broken bones from car accident). In my immediate family, news of another grandchild on way and engagement of youngest son brings new joy to help us all along the way! Praise the Lord!

            Liked by 3 people

      • Doug says:

        Today’s reading speaks to this. Romans 8:28 “all things work for good to those who love him and are called according to his purpose”. Langue (my Jacki) is a 3 time survivor. God has worded wonders deep inside her soul and mine. Less body parts, but more whole than ever.

        Liked by 4 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Judith, I will keep you in my prayers. ❤

      Liked by 2 people

    • sheralyn80 says:

      Prayers for you and your family Judith!💒

      Liked by 3 people

    • Scary news, Judith. As much for your loved ones as for you. My wife, Maureen, was diagnosed with chronic myelogenous leukemia (CML) back in 2008. As a result, she spent the next 3 months, on and off, in the hospital. Even when she came home, I had to hook her up to a medical drip a couple of times a day. It was a difficult time for us all.

      But I’m happy to say that Maureen is still with us today. She has to take a pill for it every day, but other than having a depressed immune system, she is symptom free. Thank you, God!

      “Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

      I’ll certainly pray for you, Judith.

      Liked by 4 people

    • Doug says:

      Lit a candle for you Judith.

      Liked by 3 people

  17. Joe Crozier says:

    Judith, here I sit alone in my lovely home in little old Morrinsville typing into my iphone having tuned into EWTN and joined them in the rosary coming from the grotto in Lourdes, my other spiritual home. This rosary was offered for you and I found it very moving as I had visited Lourdes with my Dad from an early age. He went there each year from 1946 as a broncardier. He ended up in one of the wheelchairs he used to push. And here you gave me the opportunity to attend to your needs in prayer at Lourdes in the way that Dad did so often with the sick who went there in their devotions of love and hope. I asked for you the intercession not only of Our Lady of Lourdes but also of Saint Judith of holy scripture the “pride and joy of Jerusalem” whose wisdom and courage were unsurpassed and who prefigured Mary herself exceedingly beautiful and “blessed more than all women on earth” , a widow who never wavered in her faith and whose example of prayer and penance corrected and encouraged others to persevere in theirs. (Our Blessed Mother was also a widow.) She cut off the head of the enemy as Mary crushed the head of the enemy. Judith accepted no praise for her actions but showed the people that the victory belonged to God. What a woman.
    The seven holy founders of the Servites of Mary gave up worldly success to serve the purposes of Jesus and Mary. As Charlie once passed on to us, “Desire God and all shall be added to you.” The founding Servites took the leap of faith and trust and it paid off handsomely: they are now saints. As I shared once before faith is believing you can push a wheel barrow on a high wire across a canyon, trust is being pushed in the wheel barrow. Surrender. How far I am from that level of trust. At the start of each mystery tonight the priest asked for a different grace – faith, hope, charity, devotion to Mary and I can’t remember the other one. I asked for an increase in these for you and for me. I asked Our Lady and St Judith and St Peregrine the cancer saint for your healing. It’s in their hands now. It always was. As Mother Teresa once repeated to one of your politicians “It’s all for Jesus.” God give me the grace to remember this. You already seem to be abundantly blessed with that particular grace but I daresay a little more will do no harm😇 to both of us. Thank you for giving me this occasion of grace by your post.

    Liked by 8 people

    • Beckita says:

      Beautiful, Joe. I dare say, you and your faith have touched us all, in addition to our dear Judith who needs our prayers and support at this time. Love praying the Rosary at Lourdes on EWTN. It is heartwarming, indeed, to know we are connected via the Rosary in Lourdes, televised all over the world thanks to EWTN.

      Liked by 7 people

      • Joe Crozier says:

        Thank you Becks
        Yes I found Judith of holy scripture to be an excellent example of trust. She did not defer to the ‘authority’ of fear, confusion or desperation that victimised the male leaders of her people. Her husband had left her well provided but she put no trust in wealth. She used all the gifts she had been given – Beauty, Intelligence, Wisdom, Courage, for the greater glory of God and for the good of her community with no thought for her own advantage or preservation. She prayed and then acted in trust never doubting the rectitude of her actions. She put herself in the arena trusting God was with her. But still she needed courage and resolve. I was a little let down to see that western scripture scholars regarded this book of the bible as a novel but then heartened to see that Jewish writers regard Judith as a real person.

        Liked by 2 people

        • Beckita says:

          This has been the most awesome time of learning, Joe and Judith. I found a wonderful resource at the International Marian Research Institute about the Old Testament women who prefigured Blessed Mother. I had known the Magnificat was based on some lines from the Book of Judith and I knew of Judith’s courage and selflessness. (Oh! And Joe, Fr. Wang said those western scripture scholars you mention are most likely Modernists. He further said, “If we can toss Judith from being a real person, why not cast out Job and endless characters from our Biblical stories? We’re treading on dangerous territory here.” I like the way he thinks.) Here’s the link I found today: https://udayton.edu/imri/mary/o/old-testament-types-of-mary.php

          I not only enjoyed reading more details about Judith, I finally found some things written about Rebekah which surprised me. All I had ever been exposed to in the descriptions about her were quite negative. (I know, selfish concern.) But today, I can finally say, Biblically speaking, I’m grateful to have been named Rebecca, a type of Mary, with the middle name of Ann. Thank you, Joe. Thank you, Judith. Your discussion has brought a special gift to me.

          Liked by 4 people

    • Judith says:

      Dear Joe, what a blessing you are. Judith of ancient times is one of my favorite OT stories. Sorry to say I do not mirror her beautiful qualities – work in progress. And, Our Lady Of Lourdes’ feast is my birthday – so, yes, very blessed. God gave Himself to us as Gift. He desires us to respond in kind, in His Divine Will. – work in progress here!!!

      Dear TNRS family, as you pray for my needs, please include a neighbor, Jean. She recently learned she has pancreatic and liver cancer. She is filled with great anxiety and fear! All I can think to do is love her, pray – and make soup. She once practiced the Catholic faith but lapsed years ago after a divorce. Storm Heaven with me that she will accept the offer to pray together, to trust God. Hmmmm, probably why He just showed me my tumor. We can travel together.
      To God be the Glory!

      Liked by 4 people

    • Doug says:

      Joe, what is a broncardier?

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Hopenjoy says:

    Is there someone out there who has an injured neck as a result of an accident with some animals? I’d like to pray for your healing in Jesus’ name. To God be the glory!

    Like

    • Karen says:

      Not to do with animals Hope, but my Mum has a broken neck, 3 vertebrae, broken clavicle, multiple broken ribs, broken ankle and heel! She has been wearing a neck brace day and night for 5 weeks and is desperate for it to come off. As I just mentioned to Judith above, Mum was recently diagnosed with lung cancer. She had been in hospital for a couple of days with COPD breathing difficulties when the normal process of scans revealed 2 tumours in the lung which has spread to lymph nodes. She was to have her biopsy on the Monday but they let her out of hospital for a few hours on the weekend to visit a sick grandson in the country who was turning 18. A sister who had been under a lot of stress fell asleep at the wheel and ran off the road into a tree. My sister was bruised but is suffering terrible guilt so please, prayers for her too. Mum has osteoporosis hence all the breaks when the airbag inflated. It happened right near the spot where our brother (father of the 18 year old) was run over and killed 5 years ago! Mum was re-hospitalised for treatment of her broken bones and bruising and eventually had her biopsy. She has been home for 2 weeks, released into family-care and rehabilitation and is slowly improving. Thank you for any prayers, hey are much appreciated. xK

      Like

  19. Joe Crozier says:

    Thank you Becks
    Yes I found Judith of holy scripture to be an excellent example of trust. She did not defer to the ‘authority’ of fear, confusion or desperation that victimised the male leaders of her people. Her husband had left her well provided but she put no trust in wealth. She used all the gifts she had been given – Beauty, Intelligence, Wisdom, Courage, for the greater glory of God and for the good of her community with no thought for her own advantage or preservation. She prayed and then acted in trust never doubting the rectitude of her actions. She put herself in the arena trusting God was with her. But still she needed courage and resolve. I was a little let down to see that western scripture scholars regarded this book of the bible as a novel but then heartened to see that Jewish writers regard Judith as a real person.

    Liked by 3 people

  20. jnursester says:

    Praying for you Judith!

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

